Back to Listings

L'Oreal Colour Trophy 2020 winners announced

The Australian L’Oréal Professionnel Colour Trophy has named its 2020 winner, medallists and other award recipients as the historic global franchise celebrates its 65th year.

In an unprecedented virtual event that brought together hairdressers from around the country online, previous winner Massimo Tirimaco at Zohair Salon in SA has been crowned as grand final winner on February 22, chosen from 15 talented finalists battling it out for the ultimate trophy. The Rising Star award was given to Brielle Kerr from Biba Salons in VIC.

“It has been a pleasure to be involved in such a long-running and prestigious event that celebrates the best of professional hair, colour and fashion,” shared event host and style icon Melissa Leong. “The calibre of talent here in Australia is most impressive. From major waves to bold hair colours, L’Oréal Professionnel has officially coined the hairstyle we’ll be asking for in the salon this year: the blunt bob.” 

Massimo won for his blunt Scarlett bob look, which used an alternated mix of blonde and bronzy tones. Other medallists were similarly positively judged on the execution of their colour placement, technique, colour choice and hairstyling. Congratulations to second place winner Jessica Schofield from Cataldos in ACT and third place recipient Evie Golding from Rokstar Salon QLD. The marie claire Reader’s Choice Award was also given to Massimo for his important entry.

The awards were presented virtually and open to the public to watch online, with the flagship event in Melbourne hosted by Melissa, and separate celebrations around the country, all connected through virtual means.

“We were so inspired by the creativity, fashion-forward styling and innovation demonstrated, it was almost impossible to select a winner. Congratulations to the incredible winners and thank you to all our Australian participants for making the 2020 event so memorable,” said L’Oréal Professionnel General Manager, Cara Riley.

Well done to the winners!

For more information visit


Stay connected